Conscious Deceleration. Algorithmic Beauty. Morality Recoded. Revelation Brands … a peak at some of the big “trends” shaping today’s markets

July 7, 2019

Trends can be exciting, inspiring and sometimes even insightful. They spark our imaginations, shape our innovations and confirm our intuition. They help us make sense of the big picture, and where we are going, and how to tune into consumers today. They can drive a business in new directions, to create new markets, develop better solutions, and engage people more deeply.

The problem is that there are so many trends – books, directories, agencies and gurus. In reality most of the so-called trends are not a significant new direction, and a symptom of it. The really big trends are more scarce and enduring. What we really see is a lot of fads and fashions, that are interesting, and may add up to a bigger shift.

As an example, here is a selection of some of the latest “trends” as brought together by The Future Laboratory, one of the best of many trend curating organisations, more of which below:

Some of my favourite “trend” resources include

Canvas8: one of the most thoughtful agencies around – they work at the intersection of commercial understanding, behavioural sciences and popular culture – to better understand and track human behaviour.

Now and Next: the personal site of Richard Watson, the trend mapper who gave the world those incredible tube-map like analysis of all the trends around, and stuck on many boardroom and project room walls (see below).

Futurism: covers breakthrough technologies and scientific discoveries that will shape humanity’s future. They are particularly strong in technologies such as AI and human interfaces, and the consequences for society.

Cool Business Ideas: Based in Singapore, it’s an inspired round-up of new businesses and opportunities from around the world. It’s a good place to see emerging products and services in a wide variety of industries.

Coolest Gadgets: the world of new stuff and categorize it according to industry, so you can see what is new in your business, and also get ideas from gadgets that are being invented by other industries.

WikiTrends: updated daily by the Avant-Guide Institute. The site collects trends from spotters all over the world and categorizes them into almost a dozen industries.

Cool Hunting: covers the latest in design, technology, style, travel, art and culture. Their content is meant to inform creative designers, but is just as useful to businesspeople looking to see what is new and relevant.

Through history there have been many wonderful futurists, of different sorts, who have presented us with glimpses of the future. Here’s a great list from Ross Dawson of what some of these outstanding people have got right in their visions of the future:

And more futurists to check out, including their twitter feeds and websites:

1 Dr. Michio Kaku michiokaku mkaku.org 8.4 7.5 8
2 Peter Diamandis PeterDiamandis diamandis.com 0 10 7 7.8
3 Brian Solis briansolis www.briansolis.com 6.3 8.8 7.1 7.7
4 William Gibson GreatDismal www.williamgibsonbooks.com/index.asp 5.9 6.4 8.6 7.6
5 Eric Garland ericgarland ericgarland.co 5 5.8 9 7.6
6 Jan Gordon janlgordon curatti.com 2.1 9.4 6.7 7.6
7 Ramez Naam ramez rameznaam.com 2.2 8.3 7.4 7.5
8 Richard Florida Richard_Florida www.creativeclass.com/richard_florida 5.2 8 7.3 7.5
9 Ross Dawson rossdawson rossdawson.com 4.7 8.2 6.6 7.2
10 Danah Boyd zephoria www.danah.org 5.7 8.2 6.5 7.2
11 Douglas Rushkoff rushkoff rushkoff.com 2.5 7.9 6.6 6.9
12 Joi Ito Joi joi.ito.com 4.4 7.5 6.6 6.9
13 Gerd Leonhard gleonhard www.futuristgerd.com 2.5 7.9 6.4 6.8
14 Daniel Burrus DanielBurrus burrus.com 3.3 7.5 6.5 6.7
15 Ufuk Tarhan futuristufuk www.ufuktarhan.com 2.8 6.9 7 6.7
16 Thomas Frey ThomasFrey www.futuristspeaker.com 1.5 8.7 5.6 6.6
17 Aubrey de Grey aubreydegrey www.sens.org 2.1 8.7 5.5 6.6
18 Don Tapscott dtapscott dontapscott.com 3.9 7.2 6.4 6.6
19 Nilofer Merchant nilofer nilofermerchant.com 2.9 6.6 6.8 6.5
20 Doug Stephens RetailProphet www.retailprophet.com 2 7.5 6.2 6.5
21 John Hagel jhagel edgeperspectives.typepad.com 2.2 6.8 6.7 6.5
22 David Pearce webmasterdave www.hedweb.com 3.9 7.8 5.6 6.4
23 Clay Shirky cshirky www.shirky.com 6.9 6.5 6.3 6.4
24 Marina Gorbis mgorbis www.iftf.org 1.2 9 4.9 6.3
25 Nicolas Nova nicolasnova nearfuturelaboratory.com 1.2 7.4 5.9 6.3
26 Dave Evans DaveTheFuturist www.stringify.com 1.4 9.2 4.6 6.3
27 Nick Bostrom fhioxford www.nickbostrom.com 1.8 9.2 4.5 6.3
28 Peter Fisk GeniusWorks thegeniusworks.com 0.9 8.8 4.9 6.3
29 Anab Jain Anabjain www.superflux.in 1.2 7.3 5.9 6.3
30 Alphan Manas alphanmanas alphanmanas.com 3.6 4.7 7.6 6.3
31 Matt Ward mattwardio disruptors.fm 0.5 7.1 5.8 6
32 Rachel Botsman rachelbotsman rachelbotsman.com 2.6 6.5 5.9 6
33 Rod Falcon rodfalcon iftf.org 0.4 9 4.3 6
34 Brad Templeton bradtem ideas.4brad.com 0.9 8.3 4.7 6
35 MadelineAshby MadelineAshby madelineashby.com 0.9 5 6.9 5.9
36 Felix Bopp felixbbopp www.clubofamsterdam.com 0.4 8.6 4.3 5.8
37 Glen Hiemstra GlenHiemstra www.futurist.com 0.8 7 5.4 5.8
38 Dan Hill cityofsound www.cityofsound.com 1.6 5.9 6.1 5.8
39 Jeremy Gutsche jeremygutsche jeremygutsche.com 3.5 6.8 5.2 5.8
40 Frank Diana frankdiana https://frankdiana.net/ 0.7 6.9 5.4 5.8
41 Helene Lavoix HLavoix www.redanalysis.org 0.6 6.1 6 5.8
42 David A Smith DavidSmithGFF www.thegff.com 0.6 6.1 5.8 5.6
43 Brett King brettking brettking.com 2.9 3.9 7 5.5
44 Cliff Pickover pickover pickover.com 2.2 3.4 7.3 5.5
45 Michell Zappa michellzappa www.envisioning.io 0.7 5.8 5.6 5.5
46 Jeremy Rifkin JeremyRifkin foet.org 0 6.1 5.4 5.4
47 Mike Jackson shapingtomorrow www.shapingtomorrow.com 0.6 6.6 5 5.4
48 Mike Walsh mikewalsh www.mike-walsh.com 1.5 7.1 4.5 5.4
49 Jake Dunagan dunagan23 verynice.co 0.8 6.2 5.2 5.4
50 Maria H. Andersen busynessgirl busynessgirl.com 0.9 6 5.3 5.3
51 Dr. Wendy L. Schultz wendyinfutures www.infinitefutures.com 0.8 4.2 6.3 5.2
52 John Smart johnmsmart accelerating.org 0.9 7.3 4 5.2
53 Andrew Curry nextwavefutures thenextwavefutures.wordpress.com 0.7 5.5 5.4 5.2
54 Gray Scott grayscott grayscott.com 1.3 7.3 3.9 5.2
55 Dr. James Canton futureguru www.globalfuturist.com 3.3 5.8 4.8 5.1
56 Ian Pearson timeguide www.futurizon.com 0.7 4.9 5.6 5.1
57 David Wood dw2 dw2blog.com 1 5.5 5.1 5.1
58 Estelle Metayer Competia competia.com 1.7 4.8 5.5 5
59 Karl Schroeder KarlSchroeder kschroeder.com 0.6 4.7 5.6 5
60 Jeanne Meister jcmeister futureworkplace.com/about/jeanne-meister 2.2 5.5 4.8 5
61 Jim Carroll jimcarroll www.jimcarroll.com 1 5.7 4.8 5
62 Nova Spivack novaspivack www.novaspivack.com 2.3 5.3 4.9 4.9
63 Jamais Cascio cascio www.openthefuture.com 1 4.5 5.6 4.9
64 Maree Conway MareeConway thinkingfutures.net 0.8 5.3 5 4.9
65 Byron Reese byronreese byronreese.com 0.7 4.4 5.7 4.9
66 Faith Popcorn FaithPopcorn www.faithpopcorn.com 1.2 5.6 4.7 4.9
67 Peter Jones redesign designdialogues.com 0.7 4.2 5.7 4.9
68 Elina Hiltunen elinafuturist www.whatsnext.fi 0.9 3.5 6.2 4.8
69 Frank Spencer frankspencer www.kedgefutures.com 0.7 4.9 5.1 4.8
70 John Seely Brown jseelybrown johnseelybrown.com 1.6 5.8 4.3 4.8
71 Robert Scoble scobleizer scobleizer.com 7.6 0 8 4.8
72 Garry Golden garrygolden garrygolden.com 0.7 3.3 6.2 4.8
73 Jack Uldrich jackuldrich www.jackuldrich.com 0.7 4.5 5.2 4.7
74 Chris Dancy servicesphere www.chrisdancy.com 0.3 6.7 3.6 4.7
75 George Dvorsky dvorsky sentientdevelopments.com 1.2 5.9 4.1 4.7
76 Stowe Boyd stoweboyd stoweboyd.com 1.7 5.2 4.6 4.7
77 Lisa Bodell LisaBodell futurethink.com/lisa-bodell 0.9 5 4.8 4.7
78 Mark Anderson stratnews www.stratnews.com 0.4 7.5 3 4.7
79 Adam Jorlen adamjorlen adamjorlen.com 0.4 4.8 4.9 4.6
80 Jesse Stay jesse www.staynalive.com 4.4 5.3 4.2 4.6
81 Tom Cheesewright bookofthefuture tomcheesewright.com 1.4 2.8 6.2 4.6
82 Paul Saffo psaffo www.saffo.com 1.2 4.7 4.8 4.6
83 Anne Lise Kjaer kjaerglobal www.kjaer-global.com 0.7 4.3 5.1 4.5
84 Puruesh Chaudhary puruesh www.agahi.org.pk 0.8 4 5.2 4.5
85 Ajit Jaokar ajitjaokar www.opengardensblog.futuretext.com 1.3 5.6 4 4.5
86 Kevin A. Barnes KevinABarnes kevinabarnes.com 0.4 4 5.2 4.5
87 Andy Hines futurist_Ahines andyhinesight.com 0.8 5.6 4 4.5
88 Emily Empel localrat www.ideacouture.com 0.5 7.2 2.8 4.5
89 Theo Priestley tprstly www.theopriestley.com 1.6 1.5 6.9 4.4
90 Venessa Miemis VenessaMiemis emergentbydesign.com 1.1 6.3 3.4 4.4
91 Mark Pesce mpesce markpesce.com 2.5 2.2 6.2 4.4
92 Craig Rispin craigrispin www.futuretrendsgroup.com 0.5 4.9 4.4 4.4
93 William Eggers wdeggers williameggers.com 1 3.6 5.2 4.4
94 Jerry Michalski jerrymichalski therexpedition.com 1.1 3.9 5 4.4
95 Lidewij Edelkoort edelkoort www.edelkoort.com 1.4 5.9 3.5 4.3
96 Melanie Swan LaBlogga melanieswan.com 0.8 6.3 3.1 4.3
97 Jane McGonigal avantgame janemcgonigal.com 4.6 0 7.3 4.3
98 David Orban davidorban davidorban.com 1.1 4 4.7 4.2
99 Rudy de Waele mtrends humanworks.design/rudy-de-waele/ 1.4 4.3 4.4 4.2
100 Emily Dalton EmilyK_Dalton www.emilykdalton.com 0.3 3.6 5 4.2

To explore this theme further, you can engage Peter Fisk as a keynote speaker, for consulting workshops, or for executive development. Email peterfisk@peterfisk.com

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *